ESSO - Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services

(An Autonomous Body under the Ministry of Earth Sciences, Govt. of India)

IOGOOS Strategy Document 2014-2019

Global Ocean Observing System in the Indian Ocean - IOGOOS


IOGOOS was formally established on November 5, 2002. 19 organisations from 10 countries have become Members of IOGOOS and agreed to collaborate and work together for the implementation of GOOS in the Indian Ocean and for promoting activities of common interest for the development of operational oceanography in the Indian Ocean region. Dr. Andreas Schiller has been elected as the new IOGOOS Chair during the IOGOOS IX Annual meeting held at Cape Town, South Africa during October 19 - 21, 2012. IOGOOS IX meeting has also discussed and agreed on new Governance Structure of IOGOOS. It was agreed to have three IOGOOS Officers, including Chair of IOGOOS representing the Eastern Indian Ocean, Central Indian Ocean and Western Indian Ocean. Two additional officers / associate officers will be nominated from the IOGOOS Projects such as IOP and SIBER. Accordingly, the following are the newly elected IOGOOS Officers.




Eastern Indian Ocean Dr.Andreas Schiller Chairman
Central Indian Ocean Dr.T.Srinivasa Kumar Officer
Western Indian Ocean Dr.Rezah Badal Officer
IOGOOS Project Representative Dr. Michael McPhaden Associate Officer
IOGOOS Project Representative Dr.Somkiat Khokiattinwong Additional Officer

IOGOOS Annual Meeting-VIII
IOGOOS Annual Meeting-IX