ESSO - Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services

(An Autonomous Body under the Ministry of Earth Sciences, Govt. of India)

Global Ocean Observing System in the Indian Ocean - IOGOOS

Sl. No.

Organization / Institution

Signatory

Focal Contact Persons

Address

1.

Bureau of Meteorology

Dr. Neville Smith

Dr Peter Dexter

International Oceans Policy Advisor, Bureau of Meteorology, E-mail: p.dexter@bom.gov.au

GPO Box 1289, Melbourne, VIC 3001, Australia,
Tel: +613 9669 4870,
Mobile: +61(0)417 353 459,

2.

CSIRO - Australia

Dr. Gary Meyers

Dr. Andreas Schiller
Chairman, IOGOOS,
Research Director,
Ocean and Climate Dynamics,
CSIRO Oceans and Atmospheric Flagship,
Castray Esplanade,
Hobart TAS 7000,
AUSTRALIA
E-mail:Andreas.Schiller@csiro.au

GPO Box 1538 Hobart
7001 Australia
Tel: 61362325208
Fax: 61362325123

3.

Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services

Dr. K. Radhakrishnan

Dr. S. S. C. Shenoi, Director

shenoi@incois.gov.in

"Ocean Valley", Pragathi Nagar BO, Nizampet SO, Hyderabad - 500 090, India
Tel: 00914023895000
Fax: 00914023895001

4.

National Institute of
Oceanography

Dr. Ehrlich Desa

Dr Wajih Naqvi
Director

naqvi@nio.org

Dona Paula
Goa 403004
India
Tel: 0091 8322456789
Fax: 0091 8322456701

5.

National Institute of Ocean Technology

Prof. M. Ravindran

Dr. Atmanand,

Director

atma@niot.res.in

Pallikkaranai,
Chennai-601302
India
Tel: 0091-44-2461029
Fax: 0091-44-2460275

6.

Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission

Dr. William Erb

Dr. Nick D'Adamo
Head,
IOC Perth
E-mail: n.D'Adamo@bom.gov.au

IOC Perth Regional Program Office,
PO Box1370
Perth WA 6872
Australia
Tel: 61 08 9226 2899
Fax: 61 08 9226 0599

7.

Iranian National Institute for Oceanography
and Atmospheric Science
(INIOAS)

Dr. Nasser Hadjizadeh Zaker

Dr. Nasser Hadjizadeh Zaker,

Director

nhzaker@inio.ac.ir .

No 9 Etemadzadeh, West Fatemi,
Tehran 1411813389,
Iran - P.O.Box:14155-4781
Tel: 009821 6944867
Fax: 009821 6944866

8.

Kenya Marine & Fisheries Research Institute

Dr. Johnson Kazungu

Dr. Johnson Kazungu, Director

jkazungu@kmfri.co.ke

director@kmfri.co.ke

P.O. Box 81651
Mombassa
Kenya
Tel: 254 11 475 151-4
Fax: 254 11 475 157

9.

Laboratoire ECOMAR,
Université de La Réunion

Prof. Chantal Conand

Prof. Henrich Bruggemann
Professor
E-mail :
Henrich.Bruggemann@univ-reunion.fr

Université de La Réunion
97715 Saint-Denis mes
cx 9 France
Tel : (262) 262 938 130
Fax : (262) 262 938 685

10.

Mauritius Ocenogrpahy
Institute, Mauritius

Mr. Harry Ganoo

Dr.M.V.Ramana

Director, Mauritius Oceanography Institute, 4th Floor, France Centre, Victoria Avenue, Quatre Bornes, Mauritius.

E-mail: mramana@moi.intnet.mu

Maritius Oceanography Inistitute
France centre, Victoria Avenue
Quatre Bornes
Tel: 230 427 4434
Fax: 230 427 4433

11.

INAHINA

Dr. Albano Gove

Dr. Augusto Bata,

Director

augustobata@yahoo.com.br

Av. Karl Marx
No. 153 Maputo
Mozambique
Tel: 258 1 430 186/8
Fax: 258 1 430 185

12.

South African National
Committee for IOGOOS

Prof. Mark R. Jury

Prof Mark JURY
E-mail: mjury@pan.uzulu.ac.za

Centre for Environmental Studies
Dept. of Geography
University of zululand
PB X 1001
Kwadlangeza 3886
Tel: 27359026326
Fax: 2735193420

13.

National Aquatic Resources Research & Development Agency (NARA)

Dr. T. Kamal
Dharmasiri Tennakoon

Dr Kamal Dharmasiri TENNAKOON
E-mail: tkdkamal@hotmail.com

Crow Island,
Colombo 15
Sri Lanka
Tel: 09401521008
Fax : 09401521932

14.

NOAA Office of Global Programs

Dr. Sidney Thurston

Dr Sidney THURSTON
Program Manager
E-mail: Sidney.Thurston@noaa.gov

1100 Wayne Avenue Suite
1210 Silver Spring MD 20910
USA
Tel: 3014272089 - 172
Fax: 3014272073

15.

South African Institute for Aquatic Biodiversity

Dr. Anthony J. Ribbink

Dr Anthony RIBBINK
Programme Manager
E-mail: a.ribbink@ru.ac.za

P.Bag 1015 Grahamstown,
South Africa
Tel: 27-46-6035830
Fax: 27-46-6222403

16.

University of Port Elizabeth

Prof. Dan Baird

Prof. Dan Baird
E-mail: zladdb@zoo.upe.ac.za

Department of Zoology
P.O. Box 1600,
Port Elizabeth 6000
South Africa
Tel: +2741504341
Fax: +27418042317

17.

Durban School of Life and Environment Sciences

Prof. Anthony Forbes

Prof Anthony Forbes
Proffessor
Department of Zoology
E-mail : forbesa@biology.und.ac.za

University of Natal
Durban 4041
South Africa
Tel: +270312603183
Fax: +270312603183

18.

Curtin University

Prof. Mervyn John
Lynch

Prof. Mervyn John LYNCH
Proffessor
E-mail : m.lynch@curtin.edu.au

P.O. Box 41987
Perth, WA 6006
Australia
Tel: 61892667540
Fax: 61892662377

19.

Institue Halieutique & des Sciences Marines

Dr. Man-wai
Rabenevanana

Dr Thierry Lavitra

Director

E-mail : lavitra_thierry@yahoo.fr

ihsm@syfed.refer.mg

Institut Halieutique et des Sciences Marines (IHSM), BP 141 - Route du Port, Avenue De France, Tuléar 601, Madagascar

Tél: 00 261 (0) 20 94 941 67

In English

Fisheries and Marine Science Institute, PO Box 141 - Port Road, Avenue De France,

601 Tulear, Madagascar
Tel: 00 261 (0) 20 94 941 67

20.

Indian Space Reserach Organisation

Dr. V. Jayaraman

Dr. Raghava Murthy

raghava@isro.gov.in

Earth Observation Systems,
ISRO Head Quaters
Banglore
INDIA

21.

University of Dar es Salaam

Prof. Alfonse M. Dubi

Prof. Desiderius CP MASALU

Director,

director@ims.udsm.ac.tz

masalu@ims.udsm.ac.tz

Institute of Marine Sciences
P.O. Box 668
ZANZIBAR,TANZANIA
Tel. +255 24 223 2128
+255 24 223 0741
(office)
+255 24 223 4175 (res.)
Fax: +255 24 223 3050
Mobile: +255 744 462 417

22.

Agency for Assessment and Application of Technology (BPPT)

Dr. Jana
T. Anggadiredja

Dr. Jana T. Anggadiredja
Deputy Chairman of Technology for Natural Resource Development

BPPT Building I - 18th Floor
Jl.M.H. Thamrin 8 - Jakarta 10340,
INDONESIA

23.

Indonesian Institute of Science (LIPI)

Dr. Jan Sopaheluwakan

Dr. Iskandar Zulkarnain, Deputy Chairman for Earth Sciences, Indonesian Institute of Sciences

iskandar.zulkarnain@lipi.go.id ;
iska003@yahoo.com

Jl. Gatot Subroto
Jakarta
INDONESIA

24.

Ministry of Marine Affairs and Fisheries

Dr. Indroyono Soesilo

Dr. Indroyono Soesilo

Chairman E-mail : soesilo@rad.net.id

Agency for Marine and Fisheries Research
Jl Letjen M.T. Haryono Kav. 52-53
Jakarta 12770
INDONESIA
Tel/Fax. +62 21 79180458

25.

MERCATOR

Dr. M. Francois Gerard

Dr. M. Francois Gerard

Charge de Mission pour les Affaires
Oceanographiques
E-mail : francois.gerard@meteo.fr

Meteo France - Direction de la
Meteorologie Nationale, 1, quai Branly 75347 Paris Cedex 07
FRANCE
Tel. +33 (0)1 45 567011
Fax: +33 (0)1 45 567005

26.

Maldives Meteorological
Service

Dr. Ali Shareef

Dr. Ali Shareef

Deputy Director General

E-mail: shareef@meteorology.gov.mv

alisharyf@gmail.com

Hulhule' 22000, Maldives.

Phone: +960 332 6200
Cell:+960 7771828

Fax: +960 332 0021

27.

Bay of Bengal Large Marine Ecosystem (BOBLME)

Dr. Chris ÓBrien

Dr. Chris ÓBrien

Regional Coordinator

E-mail: Chris.OBrien@boblme.org

FAO Regional Office for Asia and the Pacific,
Maliwan Mansion,
39 Phra Atit Road,

Bangkok 10200, Thailand

28.

Institute of Marine Sciences and Fisheries

Dr. Md. Ashraful Azam Khan

Mohammad Zahedur Rahman Chowdhury

Director and Associate Professor

E-mail: zahedims@cu.ac.bd, director.imsf@cu.ac.bd

University of Chittagong,

Chittagong-4331, Bangladesh

Tel: +88-031-726311~14,
716552, +88-031-710347

Mobile: +88 0171 1788270

Fax: +88-031-726310

29.

Kuwait Institute for
Scientific Research

Dr. Naji M. Al-Mutairi

Dr. Faiza Al-Yamani

Executive Director

Environment and Life Sciences Research Center

E-mail: faizayamani@gmail.com

P.O.Box 24885

Safat 13109

Kuwait

Tel: +965-24989320/21

Fax: +965-24989319